Tags

, , , , , ,

Revlon Colourstay has been a staple in my makeup bag since I switched from MAC studio fix fluid maybe five years ago. The reason why I switched was because I ran out of my fix fluid, I didn’t have time to get into MAC so popped to boots after reading many reviews on Revlon Colourstay. Since then I have used it religiously and only stopping just every now and again to try out other foundations that caught my eye. Yet, I have found none that can compete with this foundation for me and my skin.

The foundation is a buildable, medium to full coverage. Now some people get confused when working with foundations like this, the reason some people think it’s too thick or to heavy in my opinion is because they are applying it wrong. The best way to use Colourstay is to start light and build as needed on the areas that require more coverage. Work in sections and fairly quickly. This foundation works well applied with fingers, flat foundation brush, stippling brush and my new current favourite is applying it with my Sigma F80.

The staying power of this foundation is like none other that I have tried, it will stay on your face untill you take it off at the end of the night. I set it with powder but like to let the foundation rest on the skin for a few minutes before applying. For me I have oily skin, I get blemishes and spots and in my teens up to my early 20’s I had acne. This covers and helps conceal the problems on my skin and I will add concealer for extra coverage where it is needed, like under eyes and on spots.

It comes in two formulas, Oily/Combination and Normal/Dry. I use the one for oily skin. There are 9 shades available in each formula. My shade at the moment is Buff, when I start to get some colour in my face I use Sand Beige and when I fake tan I use Natural Tan, I also mix the shades if im between colours.

Pros:

  • Long lasting foundation
  • Easily available  (boots)
  • Great coverage
  • Matte foundation
  • Oil free
  • Comfortable wear
  • Does not lift off/ slide off
  • Photos well (oily/ combination – this is the one I use)
  • SPF 6 (oily/combination)
  • SPF 15 (normal/dry)
  • Product 30ml glass bottle

Cons:

  • No pump – this is the only thing that I wish Revlon would change!
  • Shade range – not the worst but could be bigger
  • Price – Here in Ireland its €17.50 not that bad but it’s so much cheaper is the US

I’m a believer that if your foundation is suited and colour matched to your skin correctly the rest of your makeup will look better. I am always on the look out for new foundations to test and try but my Colourstay will always be my go to. Good foundation is not about expensive brands and fancy bottles but what makes your skin look good and makes you feel like the best you!

So whats your foundation favourite ? I would love to know so please leave a comment :)

~ Melissa ~

