Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hello Flawless Oxygen Wow is Benefit’s first liquid foundation!

At the Benefit bloggers event a few weeks back the lovely Benefit team showcased the foundation . Each blogger received a bottle of the foundation which surprised me, I was just expecting a sample.

Here is what Benefit say:

•broad-spectrum SPF 25 PA+++
•oil-free formula
•natural finish
•hydrating benefits
•light-diffusing properties
•available in 9 shades

I haven’t reviewed the foundation until now because I wanted to really test it out and give you my full thoughts instead of my initial reaction.

20120420-142440.jpg
Hello Flawless has great packaging, it’s housed in a lightweight clear plastic pump bottle. This is great because its so light you can just throw it in your bag without breaking it, you can clearly see the amount you have left and the pump is get for hygiene and convenience.

From the first pump you will notice that it is very runny in consistency, it’s very pigmented and feels smooth & light in texture. The coverage is very buildable, one application you’ve got a light coverage and if you’ve got great skin it’s all you’d need. I found this to cover without being cakey and you can get a medium coverage if you want it. It made me look more awake and I felt my skin look fresher and look more glowy. Now, I just said glowy but its not from sparkles in the foundation, there aren’t any in it. It’s like the glow I get if I use Clarins Beauty Flash Balm, a radiance glow.

It’s got an SPF of 25PA+++. Which is great to have in your foundation when your on the go in the mornings and you just don’t have the time to apply everything separately. SPF is something everyone needs to include in their everyday skin care routine, to help protect from skin cancer and ageing.

So, all in all I do like this foundation and i think Benefit have done a great job. However here is why this is not the foundation for me.

It’s last only about 5 hours, first it breaks down in my T-zone and even with powder it still cant quite hang on to my skin. I’d recommend this for Normal/ Dry skin, Combination skin if your not too oily, but Oily skin will hate this. I couldn’t wear this foundation for work as it doesn’t have enough staying power on my skin.

Whatever your skin type I would say try before you buy! It’s €34. So get the girls at the counter to try it on you, wear it around the shops for a while, go outside to daylight check the colour and then make up your mind.

Colour range although they’re are 9 shades in the range I don’t think there are enough. The range is broken into light, medium and deep. I was matched to the light range and the colour “Pure For Sure Ivory” which has a strong yellow undertone. Now, I’m more of a netural undertone when I’m this pale so it’s not a perfect match at the moment but its not bad so i can make it work. I think benefit need to think about more netural in between shades.

20120420-144001.jpg

20120420-144109.jpg

Last point, the SPF is high which is great for everyday wear but it does flashback in flash photography (This is when your face looks really white in photos but in person your face blends with your neck and chest) . So if you do purchase this for yourself I would recommend having a nighttime foundation with no SPF for when your going out or using flash photography.

If you are heading into test the foundation in Dublin this Saturday, 21st April, Benefit Cosmetics will attempt to set a new Guinness World Record title for ‘the most eyebrow arch services performed in a 24 hour period around the world.’ Benefit all around the world including the US, Ireland, UK, France, Spain, Italy, China, Hong Kong and Australia, will be participating in this record breaking brow event.

For our fair city, Benefit has chosen Arnotts. If you get a brow arch on the day you will receive a free mini bad gal lash mascara and each brow arch will be €14. It all kicks off at 10.30!

Have you tried Hello Flawless? Do you like it? Let me know your favourite Benefit products in the comments below.

